Run This Mother 2024

The E-Dragon Productions Run This Mother 5K & Half Marathon is a Women Only event that takes place on Mother’s Day.

Eric had signed up to volunteer which meant an EARLY morning for us. He helped with things like setting up the start/finish line before the race and then later manned one of the aid stations along the course.

This year’s race took place on Sunday, May 12th, which also happens to be our wedding anniversary. 💞

Our favorite MC, Anthony, was there to help lead this event, which was a celebration of strength, determination and Motherhood. A day to celebrate and empower all of the “Bad Mother Runners” and I’m grateful to know so many of them. 💝

My friend Nancy and I were practically twinning in our matching pink tutus! She ALWAYS puts together the cutest and most creative outfits. 💓

The half marathoners were at the start line, ready to Run This Mother, just after the Kid’s Run at 7:30. (The 5K race started at 8:00.)

I snapped a quick start line selfie 🤳 from the back of the corral while anxiously waiting for the race to begin.

Soon, we were off!

Starting from Comanche Park in south San Antonio…

…we made our way through the park and onto the paved trails of the Salad Creek Greenway.

Due to city construction, there were some last minute changes to the race course so the half marathon started with the 5K route. E-Dragon Productions owner and Race Director, Erik, was out at the first turnaround, ensuring all runners stayed on track for this double loop half marathon course.

After the 5K portion of the race we passed thru the start/finish line area to continue in the opposite direction. There were spectators watching and cheering. There were even kids lined up giving high-fives. How sweet! 💗

There were even more Amazing Women at the aid stations keeping runners hydrated! 💖

Speaking of more amazing women, I spotted Courtney coming towards me, phone in hand and decided to partake in a fun photo “shoot-out” as we crossed paths! 📸

The course led us to Southside Lions Park for the second turnaround. My heart broke for the poor stray dog that was lying on our path and I swear I could hear Sarah McLachlan’s angelic voice singing in my head (each time) that I ran past. 🥺

This Southside Lions Park Trailhead is one of several locations in San Antonio where the Bloom sculptures, by Artist Leticia Huerta are located. I love running by these larger than life art installations! 💓

I was feeling good for the first loop but the second loop was much more challenging as the day got warmer and the humidity got worse. Thankfully, the beauty of the scenic trails kept me wanting more and I pushed forward with the determination to finish! 🤨

It was great seeing Eric each time I passed the aid station he was assigned to but even better to see him waiting at the finish line! 💞

There was so much excitement as the after party was in full swing! There were Fresh Flowers, Finisher Medals, Fabulous Friends and Fire Breathing Dragons! 👀 …as well as tacos, fresh fruit, chocolate truffles and Shiner Beer! 🍓🌮🍫🍻

It was a special day for us. Not only were we celebrating 23 years of marriage but becoming a mother was a very difficult journey for me and something I never take for granted so we had a whole lot to celebrate and be thankful for. Eric even asked Dj Paul to play our song and I cried (happy tears) while we danced. 💝

This was my 7th year running this wonderful event. It’s had different locations and it even went virtual in 2020. My son has participated in the kids run, my husband has volunteered and I have run alongside some of the most incredible and inspiring women that I know.

I’d like to give extra special thanks to E-Dragon Productions co-owner, race director and Bad Mother Runner Kristine Burciaga. Although she’s often behind the scenes making things happen, she’s also a wife and Mother of five! Happy Mother’s Day and Thank You for all that you do for the running community. 💝

#edragonproductions #runthismother #comanchepark #southsidelionspark #mothersday #anniversary #badmotherrunner #halfcrazymamakris #runningblog #myjourney #runlife #bibboards #shinerbeer #runfam

Leave a comment