Frosty 5K Fun Run 2021

The Frosty Five 5K held by Edragon Productions is a Fun, FREE & Festive Costume Run Benefiting Street2Feet in San Antonio. It was held on Christmas Eve at Pearsall Park.

The day before the race, I was putting together my costume while also tending to my son as he was dealing with a nasty stomach bug. He spent the entire day with nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, fever… 🤢🤒 He couldn’t eat and not even water stayed down. Thankfully it ran its course in 24 hours and he woke up on race morning feeling much better and he even had his appetite back. 🙏🏻 By the time I fed him (and Daddy got home from work) I didn’t have enough time to make it across town by 8:am to start the race.

I had printed my bib and was all dressed up and ready to race but I was also worried about possibly spreading this stomach bug to other runners. 😳

So I decided to run it alone as a virtual race and had just enough time to make it to McAllister Park by 8:am! 😃 But first, a “start line” selfie! 🤳🏻

While the Frosty Five 5K live event was underway in Pearsall Park, I was across town at McAllister Park running the same race! ⛄️

Although there weren’t any (other) costumed runners out on my course, there were some people running, walking and cycling through the park and they all smiled and seemed to enjoy my running outfit. 🥰

The trails were beautiful and very peaceful for my solo run.

I even saw some of Santa’s Reindeer! 🦌 I hope they were getting ready for their big night! 🎅🏻

So I finished my race and even managed to have fun! 🥰 UPDATE: I’m SO GLAD that I didn’t end up attending the live race. I woke on Christmas morning with the same symptoms that my son had the day before the race. I spent the entire day just as miserable as he had been. Also, 2 of the 3 family members that joined us for Christmas Eve ended up sick too. 😔 Thankfully, everyone recovered within 24 hours. 🙏🏻 If pandemic life has taught us anything, it’s to be responsible so we don’t spread illnesses. I’m glad I kept my distance and it wasn’t anything worse. Stay Well Everyone! ❤️ And Merry Christmas. 🎅🏻

Leave a comment