Little Rock Challenge, Part 1

The Little Rock Half Marathon has been on my bucket list for a few years. I love that there’s a different theme each year and they GO ALL OUT with whichever theme they choose. I’ve following the race each year and there’s been some that I would have really had fun with, like Medieval, Aliens, Peace & Love….etc. But I feel like the stars really aligned with this one because if there’s one thing most people know about me, it’s that I’m a Dinosaur Freak!!!! 🦖 So why not make it a CHALLENGE and run the 5K AND the half marathon?

So, I packed up my favorite custom Dinosaur gear and there was no stopping me! 🧳

I even chose to make it a (580 mile) road trip. 🚙💨 My Awesome Sole Sister’s Courtney and Liz joined me for this pre-historic themed Runcation! Courtney was my passenger/navigator and Liz drove in from Chicago with her Fur-baby, Janie. 🐶

We found a lovely little Airbnb that was so cute and cozy, even for my (Flat) T-Rex! 🦖

First things first, The Little Rock Dino-Expo! 🤩

It had all race things DINOSAUR, so we picked up our race packets, took some fun photos, checked out the vendors and the Little Rock Race merchandise store.

Race morning was so exciting! Liz drove me and stayed for support. I wore my inflatable T-Rex costume and found so many other runners donning inflatables, onesies and other super creative Pre-historic costumes! 🤩

While heading to the race corral, I found San Antonio Sole Sister Daisy! She has run this race several times and was running the 10K/Full Marathon challenge so we took a quick start line selfie. 🤳

Daisy gave me a run-down on the course and what to expect as we waited to start.

Soon it was Go-Time and off we went under the arch with the dancing “FWOPPERS!”

The sun was just beginning to rise and you could see a few spectators on the bridge ahead but there were plenty more in the streets.

Both spectators and runners were wearing fun prehistoric themed outfits and costumes.

Off I went roaming the streets (at a not-so-fast pace) full of enthusiasm as an inflatable T-Rex. Daisy ran with me up to the course split where we took the turns for each of our routes.

There was live music/entertainment along the course.

There were fun motivational signs.

There were beautiful, colorful murals.

For an out of state race, it was over way too soon! I wanted to see more of Little Rock but it will have to wait for the Half Marathon (Part 2) of the Little Rock Challenge!

Funny Story: My inflatable costume (batteries) died just one mile into the race, so I ran the last 2 miles wrapped in a floppy dinosaur costume, tail in hand while “swish-swishing” all the way to the finish line! 🏁 I didn’t get an after pic wearing it but I was still all decked out in Dino-gear.

The post race party led us into the Race Expo where I saw so many more Dinosaurs and even did some shopping before all the deals were EXTINCT! I found some super cute Chickenlegs running shorts that I just HAD TO HAVE and I picked up a new pair of Oofos. 🛍️

After leaving the Race Expo (again) Liz and I headed across the street to Hurts Donuts for breakfast! 🍩 The line was long and the place was packed full of hungry dinosaurs.

After breakfast Liz, Courtney and I spent the rest of the day exploring Little Rock! We visited Junction Bridge

…and the Vogel Schwartz Sculpture Garden.

Then we had lunch at River Market where I got some amazing vegan tacos! 🤤

It was a fun day and I was now even more anxious and excited about running the Little Rock Half Marathon with my Sole Sisters! 😍

#litterockarkansas #litterockchallenge #partone #littlerock5k #hurtsdonuts #oofos #chickenlegs #rivermarket #junctionbridge #vogelschwartzsculpturegarden #solesisters #travelbuddies #runcation #bibboards #halfcrazymamakris #runningblog #runlife

Leave a comment