Maine Coast Half Marathon

The Maine Coast Half Marathon in Wells, Maine was my 24th run state. This was a double race/state weekend and I didn’t do it alone. My traveling sole sisters Liz, Gwen, Tali, Linda and I all met up for a fun Runcation while checking both Maine and New Hampshire off of our 50 states journeys!

We found an amazing Airbnb in Cornish which was central between our 2 weekend race destinations. There was a cool map at the Airbnb and we got to pin our home states/countries. I was only the 2nd Texan on the map and the first San Antonian. 🤠

Our weekend home was spacious and beautiful with an amazing view. It had so much character and there were stories about the furnishings and decor in every room. All of our bedrooms were upstairs so running back to back half marathons and climbing those stairs all weekend was quite a feat.

We were up at 3:30 on race morning and left at 4:45 to catch the shuttle and OMG, the moonlit view from our Airbnb was so beautiful. 🌙

We were the first ones to get to the shuttle lot (there were 3 locations) so we hopped on the bus, ready to run the Maine Coast!

I was in awe as soon as I got off the bus and saw this view by the start line. 😍

There was a slight delay but everyone was lined up and pumped for the race to begin.

We took our group start line selfie 🤳 just before the conch shell was blown, signaling the start of the race. 🐚

It was Go-Time and I was so anxious and super excited to see this course!

We started out running along beautiful beach houses.

I loved the clever names that some of them had. 🥰

There were spectators on front porches cheering and holding signs as we ran by.

The race took place on May the 4th (be with you) and Linda had the coolest R2D2 outfit on! As a Fan Girl, I was totally geeking out on the Star Wars themed signs and outfits. 🤩

I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of course support this race had! 😍

Once we emerged from the alleyway of beach houses and we were actually running along the coastline the scenery was breathtaking, everyone was commenting on the view.

I mean… WOW!

Onward we went, running the majority of the course along the beautiful coastline. 🌊

However, there were 3 different loops that took us through the city of Wells.

I wasn’t expecting unpaved road but at one point there was a very short stretch of trail that led us to a narrow bridge crossing.

The scenery was constantly changing during each loop but it kept the course interesting.

The end of each loop brought us right back to the coastline. 😍

We ran past a cemetery, a Free roadside furniture outlet 🤔 and more great motivational signs! 🪧

Soon we were in the home stretch! As tired as my legs might have been, I don’t know that I was ready for this journey to end. I wanted to see more! Which kinda worked out since the course was a bit long. 👀

The post race festival was full of excitement! I saw my friend Lulu at the finish line. I also saw a group of people form a giant human pyramid. 😃 The Strip (the band) was ROCKIN’! 🎸 People were playing Cornhole. There were fun photo ops.

And then there was the post race fuel! Pizza, ice cream and beer… oh my! 🍕🍦🍺

We had a great run and had a blast celebrating another out-of-state race together!

The shuttle lines were CRAZY LONG tho! 😩 Even with 3 different locations, all 3 lines had a long wait. One runner came by with a box of pizza and kindly shared it with others in line.

And the medal was beautiful! It matched the hooded race shirt. Overall, a great course and a fun afterparty! For my first ever visit to Maine, it was well worth the trip! I try not to repeat states in my journey but given the right circumstances, I would definitely be open to running this one again! 🧜‍♀️

#mainecoasthalfmarathon #wellsmaine #halfcrazymamakris #runningblog #runlife #myjourney #runningtheusa #runcation #fiftystatesrunner #halffanatic #bibboards #shipyardbrewing #thestrip #travelingsolesisters #doubleraceweekend

Leave a comment